Freedom Reigns

I met a Savior who made me whole and secured and most importantly, a Savior who freed me from the world of judgment, temptation and deceit by introducing me eternity.

“If you’re tired and thirsty. There is freedom. Give your all to Jesus. There is freedom.”

We just finished our first ever special event at Hotrock today and I am currently listening to Kim Walker-Smith’s Freedom Reigns. Over and over as the song keeps on playing, I cannot help but feel grateful about Jesus.

Yes I am a Christian, not by religion, but through faith and by heart. I strive and fight for my personal relationship with the Lord and I’ll admit it has not been easy. I do not think it will ever be easy to pursue your relationship with the Lord in a world that is full of judgment, temptation and deceit. Just this week, if you’ve been watching the news and scrolling down your Facebook newsfeed, Manny Pacquiao’s personal stand on same-sex marriage based on his Christian beliefs received all sorts of responses, BUT I am not here to write down my opinion on it (cos I am pretty sure there’s plenty of it out there already). I am here to introduce you to my Jesus and His love.

I won’t probably capture the entirety of God’s love for people but my story can somehow depict how gracious a God He is.

I have been a Christian since I was a kid, around 7 or 8 I guess, but I began to know the Lord even more when I was a teenager when I started attending youth camps. After probably 100 youth camps (okay I’m exaggerating but you get the point), finally I decided to surrender everything to Jesus. And by surrender, I meant giving up control over my life. I’m not sure if you will be able to understand where I’m coming from but growing up, I was not a very secured person. I always look up to other people — particularly, men — for acceptance and security. My self-acceptance was always dependent on something or someone. I’ll probably elaborate on this some other blogpost but to cut it short, I did a lot of things in the past for all the wrong reasons. Then, I met this God who loved me wholly and unconditionally. A God who made me feel that I don’t have to try so hard just so I could feel loved. A God who filled whatever void I felt in my heart and my being. A God who wholly loved me. And what’s even more amazing is that I could feel it deep within my soul.

“Where the spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.”

The day I made a decision to surrender everything to Him, for the first time in my life, I felt free. I felt satisfied. I felt sure.

Free of judgment. Satisfied of His love. Sure of His promise.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” (Jeremiah 29:11)

And today was just another confirmation of the Lord’s goodness in my life as I spoke about discovering your passion infront of a group of young people. Years ago, I was like anybody else struggling in finding what I want to do in life. Not sure of what’s ahead. But praise the Lord that through His grace, I was able to be directed to my one true calling and that is to love the Lord and reach out to the younger generation with all that I’ve got. In my highs and lows, ups and downs, I will love Him and pursue this callingΒ with all I have. And I will never ever regret that decision. Yes I have sacrificed a lot of things and my lifestyle have turned 160 degrees, but I couldn’t be any more blessed than I am now becauseΒ I met a Savior who made me whole and secured and most importantly, a Savior who freed meΒ from the world of judgment, temptation and deceit by introducing me eternity.

If you’re tired and thirsty. There is freedom. Give your all to Jesus. There is freedom.”

I am able to stand up in front all because of grace. His grace just overflows, that there is no other option but to share it to others. Most especially to the younger generation. So that His greatness and faithfulness will continue to spread from one generation to another.

“Freedom reigns in this place. Showers of mercy and grace. Falling on every face. All the grace we need. There is freedom. Great is your faithfulness, O God, to this generation.”

 

πŸ’šβš“

Leave a Reply

